New Zealand Ice Hockey Governance

Ice hockey in New Zealand is played in three official Regions that are registered with the NZIHF - Auckland, Canterbury, and Southern (Otago/Southland). Each Region holds its own leagues in the respective age groups and is responsible for conducting these competitions. The NZIHF is administered by a Management Committee made up of 9 people - two delegates of each region, and the President, Treasurer, General Secretary, as well as other co-opted members.


The NZIHF oversees all ice hockey activities in New Zealand this includes;

  • The organisation of National Leagues for men, women, and appropriate age grades.
  • The selection of New Zealand teams to participate in IIHF World Championships and other events.
  • Hosting of IIHF World Championships.
  • Hosting of overseas teams touring New Zealand.
  • Development programmes for coaches, players, referees and officials.
  • Sanctioning teams from New Zealand participating in overseas friendship tournaments.
  • Publishing policies and manuals applicable to New Zealand Ice Hockey and its leagues.
  • The organisation of the annual Skate of Origin game.

The NZIHF is a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) and is represented at IIHF Annual Congresses, Semi-Annual Congresses and other events. Membership of the IIHF gives the NZIHF access to the IIHF World Championships, IIHF Development Camps and also the Equipment Support Program for developing ice hockey countries.

NZIHF Constitution