New Zealand Women’s Ice Hockey League (NZWIHL)

The New Zealand Women’s Ice Hockey League (NZWIHL), founded in 2014, is New Zealand’s Premier Senior Women’s League.

The season is typically made up of 2 weekends of round-robin games, followed by a playoffs series.

As of 2021, the NZWIHL is made up of four teams:

  • Auckland Steel (Auckland)
  • Canterbury Inferno (Christchurch)
  • Dunedin Thunder Women (Dunedin)
  • Wakatipu Wild (Queenstown)

Find out more about the NZWIHL on their website:

The New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation supports the NZWIHL through its overseeing of the league and women’s hockey in general, as well as running various hockey training programmes and providing funding to the league to reduce costs to players. The NZIHF is excited about the future of the women’s program and the future initiatives to help support its growth and development. With everyone’s support and positive enthusiasm – players, and regions, we have a great platform to grow women’s hockey.