NZ National Teams Ice Hockey Teams

The New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation supports six national teams:

Ice Blacks

Ice Fernz

Under 20

Under 18

Under 18

Under 16

The first four participate in IIHF World Championships annually. The IIHF provides tournament accommodation and a team subsidy which contributes to the costs of the coach and management staff travelling with the team.

New Zealand teams typically assemble 7 to 10 days prior to the tournament and attend a training camp in the same time zone as the tournament venue.

Development teams prepare a broad base of players for the senior teams. They run domestic development camps, and sometimes host teams or travel overseas for tournaments or tours.

Coaches and Managers are normally appointed for two year terms. These positions are advertised on the NZIHF news page.

The NZIHF also encourages New Zealand Regional and Club teams to travel to tournaments overseas and from time to time hosts overseas teams touring New Zealand.

Coaches select players according to NZIHF selection policies during the playing season prior to the respective World Championships. Players interested in being selected to represent New Zealand should note the relevant selection policy below, and make contact with the manager of the relevant team.

Ice Blacks (Senior Men’s National Team)

Ice Fernz (Senior Women’s National Team)

Under 20 Men’s National Team

Under 18 Men’s National Team

Under 18 Women’s Development Programme

Under 16 Men’s Development Programme

National Team Selection Policy

National Development Team Selection Policy